AZ State Republican Committee Selects Kelli Ward for 2nd Term Featured

AZ GOP State Organization January 24, 2021 464

State Committee of the Arizona GOP Reward Kelli Ward With Second Term as Chairwoman


Big Idea

  • Dr. Kelli Ward was re-elected for a 2nd term
  • The State Committee elected Sheila Muehling as Treasurer and Yvonne Cahill to serve as Secretary
  • The balloting took two rounds to reach a final decision
  •


The State Committee met on Saturday in Phoenix


PHOENIX — Official members of the Republican Party of Arizona's State Committee gathered at Dream City Church in Phoenix, Arizona, on Saturday, January 23, 2021, to elect a Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer, as well as Members-at-Large from each of Arizona's nine congressional districts.


Republican Party of Arizona State Committee members meeting at Dream City Church in Phoenix, AZ. (Image by Timon Harper/AZGOP)


In the race for chair, the incumbent, Kelli Ward, bested three challengers to earn a second, two-year term as party chairwoman. The election lasted two rounds since no candidate won more than 50 percent of the vote. After the first round of voting, Kelli Ward finished with 46 percent; Sergio Arellano, 26 percent; Bob Lettieri, 24 percent; and Ann Niemann, four percent. The top two candidates, Ward and Arellano, advanced to a runoff election, where Ward prevailed, 52-48.


Following the election, Ward and Arellano joined together on stage (watch) to issue a call for unity in the Republican Party of Arizona.

Additionally, the State Committee elected Sheila Muehling and Yvonne Cahill to serve as Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.

Swearing-in ceremony: Cahill, left; Ward, center; Muehling, right. (Timon Harper/AZGOP)


Republican Party of Arizona Chairwoman Kelli Ward released a statement on the results of the meeting:


“I want to thank the more than 1,300 Republican leaders who participated in this year's meeting. My message is simple: To those who voted for me, as well as to those who voted for a different candidate, as your chairwoman, I promise to work tirelessly and give 100 percent of my energy and stamina to lead in a way that unites and grows our party, as well as deliver impressive electoral wins for Arizona Republicans in 2022. I call on all Republicans to join me in this endeavor, combine forces for the good of our state, and always remember to adhere to our party's platform.”


State Committeemen caucusing to elect new CD2 Members-at-Large. (Timon Harper/AZGOP)


After the elections for party officers concluded, party leaders separated into different caucuses, organized by congressional districts, to choose new representatives to serve as Members-at-Large.


Newly elected Members-at-Large are Teresa Martinez (CD1), Sylvia Allen (CD1), Dwight Kadar (CD1); Gail Griffin (CD2), John Backer (CD2), Anthony Sizer (CD2); Michelle Ludwig (CD3), Richard Hopkins (CD3), Deborah McEwen (CD3); Donna Tanzi (CD4), Jane Evans (CD4), Michael Ward (CD4); Nancy Cottle (CD5), Joseph Pikosz (CD5), Ian Murray (CD5); Michal Joyner (CD6), Shiree Verdone (CD6), Tim Horn (CD6); Tatiana Pena(CD7), Jeremiah Cota (CD7), Timothy Schwartz (CD7); Anthony Kern(CD8), Aaron Flannery (CD8), Mitch Friedlander (CD8); Jill Norgaard(CD9), Diane Ortiz-Parsons (CD9), Jeff Fleetham (CD9).


All 16 proposed resolutions passed with majority support from party members, including formal censures of Governor Doug Ducey, Cindy McCain, and former U.S. Senator Jeff Flake. Several bylaws amendments were also adopted.

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Monday, 25 January 2021 00:30
Published in Azpolitics.news

Latest Tweets

RT @AP: Facebook and its Instagram and WhatsApp platforms are suffering an outage. The company said it was “aware that some people are havi…
Digiqole - News Magazine WordPress Theme version 2.0 released with lots of improvement https://t.co/VAqf5vloNy https://t.co/kmKM6LmHoe
👉 We are excited to announce that,📱 WPCafe is coming soon with iOS and Android APP! ✅ Download WPCafe Free :… https://t.co/DgSVA7Cr3I
Follow Themewinter on Twitter

Post Gallery

Social Security Benefits Increase in 2022

Movie Review: Belfast

Prescott Christmas Parade Route & Street Closures

Trail East of Lynx Lake Closed to Protect Nesting Bald Eagles

Gosar Lauds the Supreme Court Decision to Hear Pro-Life Case

New DUI Processing Vehicle for Prescott PD

Yavapai County Supervisors Unanimously Vote Mary Mallory Chair for 2022

Planting Your Christmas Tree After the Holidays

Celebrate the New Year @ the Whiskey Row New Year's Boot Drop